



Armstrong Memorial Lecture Columbia University Electrical Engineering Department

Professor Mung Chiang

President of Purdue University

Date: Thursday, October 17 **Time**: 2:00 P.M. - 3:00 P.M.

Location: Davis Auditorium (412 CEPSR)

Title: CHIPS: Execute for Success

Armstrong Memorial Lecture CHIPS: Execute for Success

Semiconductor innovation is a foundation to national security, economic security and job security in America. Since before the passage of CHIPS and Science Act in summer 2022, federal and state governments, companies and universities have stepped up the effort to revitalize the entire semiconductor supply chain in the U.S. We will review Purdue University's initiatives in this area and draw some lessons on universities' role in talent development, research moonshots, and public private partnership.

About Professor Mung Chiang

Mung Chiang is the 13th president of Purdue University and the Roscoe H. George Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering. He was previously the John A. Edwardson Dean of the College of Engineering and executive vice president for strategic initiatives at Purdue University, as well as the Arthur LeGrand Doty Professor of Electrical Engineering at Princeton University.

Chiang founded the Princeton EDGE Lab in 2009 and then founded several startup companies and industry consortia in edge computing. As the Science and Technology Adviser to the U.S. Secretary of State in 2020, he initiated tech diplomacy programs for the U.S. government. Currently he serves on the inaugural board of the U.S. Foundation for Energy Security and Innovation and several corporate and nonprofit boards.

Chiang received his BS (1999), MS (2000) and PhD (2003) from Stanford University and an honorary doctorate (2024) from Dartmouth College. For his research in communication networks, he received the NSF Alan T. Waterman Award (2013), as well as the IEEE Kiyo Tomiyasu Award (2012), the IEEE INFOCOM Achievement Award (2022) and a Guggenheim Fellowship (2014). He was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (Class of Mathematical and Physical Sciences 2024), the National Academy of Inventors (2020) and the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences (2020).